Old Procuratie
 
  They are constituted by a long building (m.152) that skirts the northern side of St. Mark's Square. They were built in a unique floor during the twelfth century but they suffered some renovations beginning from 1514, up to 1532, the year when Jacopo Sansovino intervened raising an ulterior floor on the original building. Initially it was assigned to offices and residence for St. Mark's attorneys (the attorney was the more important magistrate in the Republic after the Doge), today it is ownership of Assicurazioni Generali, and in the future it will welcome the offices of the municipal administration. Behind the Old Procuraties there is the Orseolo Basin, realized in 1863 for the docking of the gondolas.